Race Schedule Update: Moving the Goalposts. Where I’m at & where I’m going

The Government Shutdown has forced our race tomorrow to be rescheduled to an unknown date. Maybe Next Sunday? GREEAATTT. I didnt take Saturday off or anything. Ah, it’s okay. The Kat and I will go pound the trails in Nassau for free.

Here are my times so far for 5Ks this year. I’m recovering nicely from that Plantar tear and it shows.

 

—-

Past Results

June 29th: Brooklyn (Coney Island) Take Your Base 5K – 47:47

July 13th: Brooklyn (Prospect): MLB AllStar 5k: 47:33

August 4th: Brooklyn ( Brooklyn Bridge): 43:40

September 14th: Brooklyn (Coney Island) Great Irish Fair 5K: 42:56

Upcoming

October 12th (Now TBA): Brooklyn (Floyd Bennett) http://rocrace.com/nyc/

November 28th: Prospect Park Turkey Trot! https://nycruns.com/races/?race=prospect-park-track-club-5m-turkey-trot 5 miles on Turkey day! I’ll be 30 by then (11/26!)! Hopefully I won’t be hung over still. 

December 15th: https://nycruns.com/races/?race=nycruns-hot-chocolate-5k-and-10k This is the big one. My first 10K, I can do it (see below).

December 31st I’ll be back in prospect (Or Central?) for the NYE 5K Run. Cause I’m nuts.\

2014 Tentpole Events: These are the big tickets. These are the ones I want to nail. I’m ticking the days down towards these and ramping up the training.

Feb 23rd (Central Park, Manhattan) 1/2 Marathon. Using this as a dry run for the Brooklyn 1/2. https://nycruns.com/races/?race=nycruns-central-park-marathon-and-half-marathon 

Late May: Brooklyn Half Marathon. There it is. That’s the goal. The initial target time is 2:45. We’ll see if I adjust that as we get closer.

Oct. 11 / Oct 12: Tri-State Tough Mudder. This will be the ‘do it or die trying moment’. That’s the one. All systems go. http://toughmudder.com/events/tri-state-2014/#event_day

I notched a healthy 7.3miles (over 8 with the warmdown!) in a brisk 99 minutes yesterday. I’ve officially got the lungs & endurance for a 10K, now to move the legs a little faster.

I run. It’s liberating. Try it.

Catch you on the flipside, kids.

Hit Reply... you know you want to.

